Shakespeare by the Sea is Coming to a Stage near You

Jun 03, 2010 by Lisa Newton

Are you ready to see some Shakespeare? Well, even if you’re not, Shakespeare is almost ready for you. Yes, it’s time for Shakespeare by the Sea. Celebrating its 13th season, this year’s featured plays are Julius Caesar, “a swift and enthralling political thriller where ambition and patriotism go head to head” and Twelfth Night, “set in the make-believe country of Illyria where ‘nothing that is so, is so.’”

With the first performance scheduled to start at Point Fermin Park in San Pedro on Thursday, June 10th, now is the time to mark your calendar. If you don’t live in San Pedro, no problem.

After a four week schedule at Point Fermin Park, Shakespeare by the Sea will go on a six week tour at various locations around Los Angeles and Orange Counties. Depending on the location, you might need to bring beach chairs, blankets, warmer clothing (the nights close to the beach can get a little nippy), and even a picnic dinner. Click the links to find out more about each venue.

Here’s a list and description of all the 2010 performances, plus at the bottom, a map showing the location of each venue:

    Point Fermin Park

    Where: 807 Paseo del Mar, San Pedro

    Day, Time, and Play: Thursday, Friday and Saturday at 8pm, Twelfth Night: June 10, 11, 12, 24, 26, Jul 2, Aug 14, Julius Caesar: June 17, 18, 19, 25, Jul 1, 3, Aug 13

    Terranea Resort

    Where: Rancho Palos Verdes, 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes

    Day, Time, and Play: Wednesday, July 7 – 8pm – Julius Caesar

    Fort MacArthur LA Air Force Base

    Where: S. Pacific & Meyler, San Pedro

    This is a private performance for military families (not open to public)

    Day, Time, and Play: Thursday, July 8 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Two-Strike Park

    Where: 5107 Rosemont Ave, La Crescenta: Two-Strike Park

    Day and Time: Friday, July 9 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Bonita Canyon Sports Park

    Where: Bonita Canyon & Mesa View, Newport Beach

    Day, Time, and Play: Saturday, July 10 – 7pm – Julius Caesar , Sunday, July 11 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Adventure Park

    Where: 10130 Gunn Ave, Whittier, CA 90605

    Day, Time, and Play: Wednesday, July 14 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Garfield Park

    Where: 1000 Park Ave., South Pasadena, CA 91030

    Day, Time, and Play: Thursday, July 15 – 7pm – Twelfth Night, Thursday, August 12 – 7pm – Julius Caesar

    Polliwog Park

    Where: 1601 Manhattan Beach Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266

    Target Arts & Wonder Free Family Event: Friday, July 16 – 7pm – Julius Caesar, Saturday, July 17 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Fred Hesse Jr. Community Park

    Where: 29301 Hawthorne Blvd, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275

    Target Arts & Wonder Free Family Event: Sunday, July 18 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Valley Park

    Where: Valley & Gould, Hermosa Beach, CA 90254

    Day, Time, and Play: Wednesday, July 21 – 7pm – Julius Caesar , Thursday, July 22 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Wilson Park

    Where: 2200 Crenshaw Blvd, Torrance, CA 90501

    Day, Time, and Play: Friday, July 23 – 8pm – Julius Caesar , Saturday, July 24 – 8pm – Twelfth Night

    Crown Valley Community Park

    Where: 29751 Crown Valley Pkwy, Laguna Niguel, CA 92677

    Day, Time, and Play: Sunday, July 25 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Brand Park

    Where: 1601 W. Mountain Street, Glendale, CA 91201

    Day, Time, and Play: Wednesday, July 28 – 7pm – Julius Caesar, Thursday, August 5 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Glenoaks Park

    Where: 2531 E Glenoaks Blvd, Glendale, CA 91206

    Day, Time, and Play: Thursday, July 29 – 7pm – Julius Caesar , Wednesday, August 4 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Del Valle Park

    Where: 5939 Henrilee St, Lakewood CA 90713

    Day, Time, and Play: Friday, July 30 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Rush Park

    Where: 3021 Blume Dr, Los Alamitos, CA 90720

    Day, Time, and Play: Saturday, July 31 – 7pm – Julius Caesar, Sunday, August 1 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Long Beach Museum of Art

    Where: 2300 E. Ocean Blvd, Long Beach, CA 90812

    Day, Time, and Play: Friday, August 6 - 8pm - Julius Caesar

    Roxbury Park

    Where: 471 South Roxbury Drive, Beverly Hills, CA 90212

    Day, Time, and Play: Saturday, August 7 – 7pm – Julius Caesar, Sunday, August 8 – 7pm – Twelfth Night

    Anderson Park

    Where: 19101 Wilmington Avenue, Carson, CA.  90746

    Day, Time, and Play: Wednesday, August 11 – 7pm – Twelfth Night


View Shakespeare by the Sea in a larger map

Subscribe via RSSIf you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or bringing Travelin’ Local home with you via the RSS feed.

Related Posts with Thumbnails
Entertainment, Theatre
No Responses to “Shakespeare by the Sea is Coming to a Stage near You”

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv Enabled